Webby Awards 2011 Go to Justin Bieber, Snoop Dogg and LL Cool J

The Webby Awards have announced the 2011 winners and Justin Bieber, Snoop Dogg and LL Cool J all won awards for their work presented on Funny Or Die, the comedy website founded by Will Ferrell and Adam McKay’s production company Gary Sanchez Productions.
The Webby Awards were created by Glenn Davis of Cool Site of the Day. Davis’ inaugural award was dubbed Cool Site Of The Year Award. The Webby Awards are international and are presented annually by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences for excellence on the Internet. There are over 70 categories including websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, web design and much more. The are two winners selected for each category. One is chosen by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences members and the other by the public votes cast during Webby People’s Voice voting process. Past winners include Amazon.com, Facebook, Al Gore and the Beastie Boys.
Justin Bieber snagged the People’s Voice vote for Best Comedy Video. His April Fool’s Day takeover of Funny Or Die got him the nomination and the award. Snoop Dogg and LL Cool J garnered the People’s Voice award for Best Branded Entertainment due to their Funny or Die video “Ultimate Halo Smack Down.”
In the clip, the legendary rappers face off with Zachary Levi, star of NBC’s “Chuck,” in an epic ‘Halo’ battle while trashing each others X-Box skills over the wireless headsets.
Other celebrity winners include talk show host Conan O’Brien, Canadian alt-rock band Arcade Fire, and comedian/actor Zach Galifianakis.

No comments:

Post a Comment